Atlanta to host NCAA Final Four, Division II, Division III finals

Image 1 of 9

For only the second time in history, Atlanta will host not only the NCAA Final Four, but also the Division II and Division III championship games in one weekend.

The NCAA and Atlanta Basketball Host Committee made the announcement at a news conference Wednesday.  Atlanta also hosted all three finals in 2013. 

"It's never been done anywhere else and now it will happen here in Atlanta in 2020," said Dan Gavitt, the NCAA’s senior vice president of basketball. 

The Final Four games will take place in Mercedes-Benz Stadium on April 4 and 6.  The Division II and III games will be at State Farm Arena on April 5. NCAA Division II programs in Georgia include Morehouse College, Clark-Atlanta University, University of North Georgia and Clayton State University. NCAA Division III programs in the state include Emory University, LaGrange College, Piedmont College and Covenant College. 

"I think it's fantastic and it really is all about inclusiveness and that's what we've tried to do with all of our big sporting events in the city to make sure that there's a place and a space for everyone," said Atlanta Mayor Keisha Lance Bottoms.  "For the NCAA to step up and do it in a really formalized way I think speaks to what we can expect with our partnership with them for 2020 and I'm just excited they've chosen Atlanta and that so many of our schools, including our HBCUs, will have an opportunity to be a part of the big event, the big dance." 

The host committee also unveiled their "The Year of Basketball" campaign, which will help generate excitement about the Final Four weekend by introducing children all over metro Atlanta to the game.  Former NCAA and NBA star Grant Hill will serve as the ambassador for that initiative. 

RELATED: Atlanta preparing to host 2020 NCAA Final Four, will draw on big-event experience