ATLANTA - Beginning next month, Georgians who are 17 years old will need to complete a driver training program.
The Georgia General Assembly made changes to Joshua’s Law earlier this year. Right now, those who wait until they are 17 to take the test for their first license are exempt from the 30 hours of instruction and six hours of on-the-road training.
That changes on July 1.
That is when anyone who is 18 or under will need to take those courses for their initial Class D license.
The Georgia Department of Driver Services said the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) are available through most area high schools and the options for parents to have their child fulfill the remaining Joshua’s Law requirements can be found at https://dds.georgia.gov/joshuas-law-requirements.
For more information on Joshua’s Law and the changes, go to www.dds.georgia.gov.
Download the FOX 5 Atlanta app for breaking news and weather alerts.