John Eaves begins campaigning for Mayor of Atlanta

Image 1 of 4

John Eaves has resigned as Chairman of the Fulton County Commission to focus on his bid for Mayor of the City of Atlanta. 

App users: View full article here

Eaves told FOX 5's Portia Bruner he's shifting his priorities to campaigning and was already greeting commuters at the Cascade Boulevard and Interstate 285 intersection Wednesday morning. He officially qualified for mayor not long after that and planned to begin door-to-door campaigning Wednesday afternoon. 

“It’s amazing what we got done during the ten years I was leading our state’s largest county, and it’s one million residents,” said Eaves in a statement released to FOX 5. “Now, that the County is safer, healthier, smarter and economically stronger, it is time for me to continue my service at City Hall. This morning we begin that official journey by qualifying and hitting the trail.”

Eaves resigned from his position with the Fulton County Commission Tuesday night. He’s since launched the "Eaves for Atlanta" website. 

"John Eaves will lead a city that is compassionate and prosperous; with a government that is trustworthy, values community promotes safety and operates efficiently and effectively," the website states.

Fulton County Commission Vice Chairman Bob Ellis, District 2, will serve as Interim Chairman until the seat is filled. 

"I offer my sincere thanks to Chairman Eaves for his years of service to Fulton County," Ellis said in a news release Wednesday morning. "Together, we have launched key initiatives to improve County government and better serve our citizens. I assure you that those initiatives will continue in the months ahead as we work to improve the programs and services we offer in the state's largest County.  As Interim Chairman, I look forward to working with my fellow Commissioners and will welcome and ensure that the new Chairman makes a smooth transition into their new position."

On November 7, a special election will take place to fill the remainder of the current term for the Chairman's seat, which ends December 31, 2018.