Georgia voters head to polls Tuesday for runoff elections

On June 18, Georgia voters headed to the polls to decide several runoff elections. 

One of the most significant races locally was for DeKalb County CEO. Former Commissioners Lorraine Cochran-Johnson and Larry Johnson were vying for the position. In the May election, Cochran-Johnson received 46% of the vote, compared to Johnson's 34%.

LIVE RESULTS: DeKalb County CEO runoff election results: Cochran-Johnson vs. Johnson

Before voting opened, polls showed Cochran-Johnson with an 18-point lead and 17% of voters still undecided - making turnout the key.

If elected, Cochran-Johnson would be the first African-American woman to serve in the role.

WATCH DEBATE: DeKalb County's CEO runoff: Cochran-Johnson vs. Johnson

Another high-interest race is for Clayton County sheriff. Jeff Turner, the Clayton County Board of Commissioners Chairman, is running against incumbent Sheriff Levon Allen.

LIVE RESULTS: Clayton County sheriff runoff election results 2024

Voters line up to cast their ballots at a polling station set up at Grady High School for the mid-term elections on November 6, 2018 in Atlanta, (Photo by Jessica McGowan/Getty Images)

In addition to these races, there will be eight legislative seats on the ballot, determining the incoming lawmakers for hundreds of thousands of Georgians.

What to expect in Georgia's primary runoffs

Former Trump political adviser Brian Jack is squaring off against former Senate Majority Leader Mike Dugan in Georgia's 3rd Congressional District.

Democrats Clarence Blalock and Shawn Harris face off in a race to challenge U.S. Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene in Georgia's 14th Congressional District.


Randal Mangham and Iris Knight-Hamilton are competing for retiring Senate Minority Leader Gloria Butler's seat in Senate District 55.

And, Republican incumbent Rep. Steven Sainz is fighting to keep his seat in Georgia House District 180.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

FOX 5 Atlanta will provide results of the runoff elections on-air and online Tuesday night. 

Runoff Election Results 2024

These results have been called by the Associated Press.

  • 2nd Congressional District: Wayne Johnson (GOP)
  • 3rd Congressional District: Brian Jack (GOP)
  • 14th Congressional District: Shawn Harris (DEM)