Results from more than 400 races across north Georgia

Georgians spent Tuesday at the polls in a municipal election to fill critical county and city seats, some Georgia General Assembly posts, and some referendums on how the government should collect and spend taxpayer money.

Here are the highlights of some of the more notable races:

RELATED: You Decide 2017 - Election results

The most heated and closely watched races in north Georgia was the race to see who will be Atlanta’s next mayor. Nine candidates were openly vying to replace current Mayor Kasim Reed, but none of the candidates received the decisive 50 percent plus one vote for a clear victory Tuesday.

The race goes into a runoff Dec. 5 between Kesha Lance Bottoms and Mary Norwood. Bottoms or Norwood would become only the second female mayor in the city’s history.

RELATED: Bottoms, Norwood in runoff for Atlanta mayor

It also appears the Atlanta City Council President race will head to a runoff. Voters will have to decide between Alex Wan and Felicia Moore.

Three Atlanta City Council races and four Atlanta Board of Education decision will be headed towards a runoff on Dec. 5.

MORE: Results for all Atlanta races

Fulton County residents will also be headed back to the polls on Dec. 5 to finalize who they would like to fill the void left behind John Eaves who resigned to focus his attention on running for Atlanta Mayor. Robb Pitts, who received 38 percent of the vote, and Keisha Waits, who netted 34 percent, will battle it out. 

District 4 Commissioner also remains undecided with a runoff between Kathryn Flowers and Natalie Hall eminent.

MORE: Results from races in Fulton County


DeKalb County passed the one-cent special purpose local option sales tax which will raise sales tax from 7 to 8 percent in April. The move is estimated to bring in nearly $330 million over the next six years to fund transportation initiatives and capital improvements for the county and it's 12 cities. Nearly half will go towards road resurfacing projects.

RELATED: DeKalb County voters decide to raise sales tax, freeze tax assessments

The tax will also go towards residential property tax relief and homeowners will have their tax assessments frozen for as long as the SPLOST is in place.

MORE: Results from races in DeKalb County

In Athens-Clarke County, voters decided overwhelmingly on a Transportation Sales Tax. The referendum passed with 74 percent of the vote.

Barrow County and Cherokee County also gave overwhelming support for each of their Sales Tax Capitol Projects referendums receiving 73 percent and 79 percent respectively to pass each.

MORE: Results for races in counties B to C

Floyd County's Sales Tax Capital Projects question also passed, but by a smaller margin. It only gained 61 percent of the voters' support.

A second sales tax questions in Floyd County to fund education passed with 72 percent of the vote.

Fayette County also was a little less enthusiastic about their proposed sales tax for education only passing with 64 percent of the vote.

MORE: Results for races in counties D to F

A similar proposal in Gordon County also passed by a 54 point margin.

MORE: Results for races in counties G to H

Democrats will be picking up three open seats in the Georgia General Assembly.

In Georgia House District 119, Jonathan Wallace will be representing portions of Clarke and Oconee counties next session. Wallace won the seat outright beating three Republicans and pulling in 57 percent of the vote. Wallace will take over for Republican Chuck Williams who was appointed to the Georgia Forestry Service.

In Georgia House District 117, Deborah Gonzalez beat out Houston Gaines in a tight race. She will fill the seat left vacant by Republican Regina Quick, who was appointed to a judgeship in the Superior Court of the Western Judicial Circuit. Gonzalez will represent portions of Barrow, Clarke, Jackson and Oconee.

In Georgia Senate District 6, Jaha Howard and Jen Jordan will be headed towards a runoff to determine which Democrat will take over for the former Republican Sen. Hunter Hill.

Democrats were also fighting to maintain two prominent seats left vacant so the candidates could focus on running for other offices.

In Georgia Senate District 39, Nikema Williams and Linda Pritchett will be headed towards a runoff to see who will fill the seat left vacant by former Democratic Whip Vincent Fort, who was focusing on running for Atlanta Mayor.

In Georgia House District 89, Bee Nguyen and Sachin Varghese will face each other in a runoff to determine who will replace House Minority Leader Stacey Abrams, who has resigned to turn her attention on Georgia's gubernatorial election in 2018.

In Georgia House District 60, Kim Schofield and De'Andre Pickett will face each other in a runoff to determine who will fill the seat left vacant by Keisha Waites, who ran for Fulton County Commission Chair.

MORE: Results for open Georgia General Assembly seats

Republicans retain Georgia House District 4 and Georgia House District 26 with the election of Kasey Carpenter and Marc Morris respectively. Morris takes over for Geoff Duncan who is setting his sights on the lieutenant governor run in 2018.

Republicans will maintain their solid control over the House and Senate with still over 60 percent of the seats being filled by the GOP in both chambers.

GET MORE: Full election coverage here