President Trump approves Georgia's emergency declaration

President Donald Trump has approved Georgia's declaration of emergency from Governor Nathan Deal ahead of the arrival of Hurricane Irma.

Trump ordered federal assistance to supplement state and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from Hurricane Irma beginning on September 7 and continuing.

The Department of Homeland Security and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will coordinate all disaster relief efforts. 

Their assistance comes to save lives, protect property, and ensure public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe in the counties of Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne, and Ware.

FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide, at its discretion, equipment, and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency.  Debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct Federal assistance, will be provided at 75 percent Federal funding. 

MORE: Get an in depth look at Irma, Harvey, and the 2017 Hurricane Season


Keep up with the latest watches and warnings by downloading the FREE FOX 5 Storm Team app and following @FOX5StormTeam on Twitter.



DOWNLOAD the FREE FOX 5 Storm Team app to keep up with this extreme weather