MC Lyte, Monyetta Shaw, Ashanti and more celebrate the 2019 Bounce TV Trumpet Awards

Image 1 of 6

Grammy-nominated R&B singer Tank and NAACP Image Award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson hosted the 27th Annual Bounce TV Trumpet Awards Saturday evening at the Cobb Energy Performing Arts Center in metro Atlanta. 

Civil Rights leader, Xernona Clayton founded the prestigious awards show in 1992. She currently serves as President and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation.

According to the official website: 

"The Bounce Trumpet Awards are an all-star celebration of African American leaders who have achieved greatness and inspired it in others." 

The annual awards show salutes excellence in civil rights, entrepreneurship, law, business, and entertainment.

The 2019 Honorees included the following: 

MC Lyte, Trailblazer Award: MC Lyte has had a long and successful career in hip-hop. She is also an entrepreneur, author and actress. The Trailblazer Award celebrates those who inspire people to follow their path to greatness by being innovative. 

Robert Townsend, Living Legend Award: Robert Townsend is a actor, comedian, and producer whose film and television career has spanned over 30 years. The Lifetime Achievement Award honors individuals who have achieved outstanding accomplishments throughout a long career. 

JD McCrary, Rising Star Award presented by McDonalds: 11-year-old JD McCrary is a singer and actor who will star in the upcoming Lion King remake. The Rising Star Award recognizes those who are quickly making a mark in their industry. 

Tim King, Education Excellence Award: Tim King serves as the President and CEO of the non-profit Urban Prep Academies. The Education Excellence salutes someone who has shown an unwavering commitment to the academic improvement of a community. 

Rodney Jerkins, Music Excellence Award: Rodney Jerkins is a Grammy-Award winning songwriter and producer who has collaborated with a long list of artists including Michael Jackson and Beyonce. The Music Excellence Award highlights those who have had a exceptional impact on the music industry. 

T.I., Xernona Clayton Award: T.I. is Grammy-Award winning artist, philanthropist, and Atlanta native. The Xernona Clayton Award points out those who have succeeded in spite of great odds and work to enhance and enrich the world. 

Dapper Dan, Vanguard Award:  Daniel Day, also known as Dapper Dan is a fashion designer who is credited with helping bring high fashion to the hip-hop world. He has worked with LL Cool J and Salt-N-Pepa. The Vanguard Award recognizes individuals who challenge the norm in a unique way while making a social impact on their industry. 

Past honorees include, Steve Harvey, The Isley Brothers, Comedian George Wallace, Alfre Woodard, Dikembe Mutombo, New Edition, and Jamie Foxx.

The 2019 Bounce TV Trumpet awards premieres February 17 at 9 p.m.