Jordan, Williams, Schofield, Nguyen elected to Georgia General Assembly

Voters in metro Atlanta have elected Bee Nguyen to a seat in the Georgia General Assembly.

Nguyen on Tuesday defeated fellow Democrat Sachin Varghese in a runoff for the House District 89 seat. Nguyen garnered about 52 percent of the vote.

Runoff Results: Georgia General Assembly

Nguyen was elected to the seat left vacant by state Rep. Stacey Abrams, an Atlanta Democrat who is leaving the legislature to run for governor.

The race was the first of four state legislative runoffs to be decided.

Kim Schofield has defeated fellow Democrat De'Andre Pickett for a seat representing parts of metro Atlanta in the General Assembly.

Schofield won the runoff election Tuesday for the vacant seat in House District 60, which includes parts of Fulton and Clayton counties.

Schofield won Tuesday's election with nearly 53 percent of the vote.

Schofield was elected after Democratic Rep. Keisha Waites resigned from the District 60 seat in September to run for chair of the Fulton County Commission.

Jen Jordan has defeated Jaha Howard in a runoff for the state Senate District 6 seat in metro Atlanta.

Jordan, a Democrat, got 64 percent of the vote in Tuesday's election to defeat Howard, also a Democrat.

Tuesday's election was held to fill a seat left open when Republican Hunter Hill left the chamber to run for Georgia governor.

Voters have elected Atlanta Democrat Nikema Williams to a seat in the state Senate.

Williams on Tuesday defeated fellow Democrat Linda Pritchett with 51 percent of the vote to win the vacant Senate District 39 seat.

The seat was left open by Democrat Vincent Fort, who stepped down to run for Atlanta mayor.