State of Emergency declared for southeast Georgia

- The blast of winter weather expected in southeast Georgia has the state’s governor declaring a state of emergency for 28 counties.

Gov. Nathan Deal declared Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Candler, Coffee, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Echols, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Lowndes, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Ware and Wayne counties to be under a state of emergency until Friday at midnight.

“The state has begun preparations for potential winter weather in the 28 counties, including sending all Georgia Department of Transportation brine trucks and 75 additional plows to the impacted areas,” Deal was quoted as saying in a release to FOX 5 News. “The emergency declaration ensures all state resources are available if necessary. We will continue monitoring the weather and provide updates as needed. I encourage all Georgians in the potentially impacted areas to stay informed, get prepared and be safe.”

Motorists are being asked to avoid traveling in those counties unless necessary.

RELATED: Snow possible in Central, South Georgia; just cold in North Georgia

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes advertiser stories