Smart, key Dawgs get accolades following SEC win

- There is even more celebration in Athens this week following the big win in the SEC Championship over Auburn this weekend.

The Associated Press named Kirby Smart SEC Coach of the Year.

Linebacker Roquan Smith was awarded the SEC's top defensive player.

Smith also won the Butkus Award, which goes to the nation's best linebacker.

And quarterback Jake Fromm will share the title of Newcomer of the Year with Auburn's Jarrett Stidham.

The Dawgs are preparing for their trip to Pasadena in three weeks when they take on Oklahoma in the Rose Bowl.

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes advertiser stories