Obama signs Georgia disaster declaration, Deal surveys damage areas

President Barack Obama has declared Georgia a disaster area after the storm of Hurricane Matthew battered the southeast area of the state.
The White House announced Sunday that Obama signed the declaration late Saturday. It'll free up federal aid to help recovery efforts in counties including Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh.
In all, tt's designated to 30 counties in coastal Georgia.
Georgia Governor Nathan Deal surveyed storm-struck areas along the coastal region of the state Sunday afternoon. The governor visited Brunswick and Savannah to assess damage in those areas after the powerful winds of Hurricane Matthew raked through Georgia's 100-mile coastline overnight Friday.
Georgia Power says about 200,000 homes and businesses on the coast are still without electricity. The bulk of the outages remain in Chatham County, which has more than 111,000.
Some homes suffered roof damage but otherwise appeared undamaged, even on the beach where windows without boards protecting them were unbroken.
There were three deaths related to the harsh weather brought on by the storm. Two deaths occurred in Bulloch County. The other was reported in Chatham County.


Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes advertiser stories