New scam targeting iPhone users

Apple iPhone users beware: a new scam is tricking people into giving up their Apple passwords and other personal information.

Here’s how it works: after you freeze the account of your lost or stolen iPhone.

The scammer sends the victim a text, saying their old phone has been found.

The message also includes a link to a phony webpage asking for your Apple account login.

The scammer then uses it to access all the information on your account.

"I get a text message claiming that they were from Apple Support, that they found my iPhone," a victim recalled. "So I clicked on the link and it looks like it's the Apple iCloud login information, but the URL at the top really didn't look like it was from Apple."

The url to lookout for end in “xyz.”

Apple’s web address ends in “icloud.com.”

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in - includes advertiser stories